Toggle menu

Service update: Monday 20th September 2021. All recycling collections, including pink sack and glass collections are back on this week starting with Wickford on Monday 20 September.

Thank you for your patience and understanding whilst services have been disrupted. Please remember to put out your sacks on your usual collection day and note that the Barleylands Recycling Centre has returned to its normal opening times.

Regulatory Committees

The three Regulatory Committees and one Joint Committee act and make decisions within their own areas of responsibility as set out in the Council's Constitution .

The majority of Regulatory Committees' decisions can be made without the need for Council to be involved. However, there are exceptions which require a matter to be referred to the Council for a final decision.

All committees are made up of Councillors reflecting the political make-up of the Council.


1. The Audit and Risk Committee

    Membership: 5 Councillors.

     View details plus minutes & agendas

2. The Planning Committee

    Membership: 9 Councillors.

    View details plus minutes & agendas

    Icon for pdf Residents' Guide to the Planning Committee (formerly the Development Control and Traffic Management Committee) [74.87KB]

Under The Local Authorities and Police and Crime Panels (Coronavirus) (Flexibility of Local Authority and Police and Crime Panel Meetings) (England and Wales) Regulations 2020, all Council committees are currently being held remotely and streamed live on the Council's YouTube channel. The remote Planning Committee meetings are open to members of the public, who are able to observe the proceedings and may be able to put forward their views on the subjects under discussion.

If a member of the public wishes to address the Committee on a particular item on the agenda, they can do so by joining the meeting via Zoom.  They will need to register in advance by contacting the Senior Governance Officer listed on the front of the agenda and by no later than 24 hours prior to the meeting. Their request will then be acknowledged and details of the meeting will be sent. Alternatively, a member of the public can put their comments in writing and send them to no later than the day before the meeting and their statement (or a precis of it, depending on its length) will be read out by a Planning Officer at the meeting on their behalf.

3. The Licensing Committee

    Membership: 10 Councillors.

     View details plus minutes & agendas

4. The Joint Standards Committee

   Membership: 3 Borough Councillors, 2 Local (Town/Parish/Village) Councillors and 4 non-voting Independent Persons.

    View details plus minutes & agendas 

Share this page

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share by email