Search site
»

Christmas and New Year office opening hours, and refuse and recycling collections

Christmas tree graphic This year Basildon Council's town centre offices in The Basildon Centre, St Martin's Square will open over much of the Christmas period and residents will be able to access the following services:

Emergency contact

  • Call 01268 533333 where options are available to assist you in an emergency outside of office hours, e.g. to report an emergency repair, or to report a stray dog etc.

Refuse and recycling collections

All recycling collections carry on throughout the Christmas period. Please ensure all rubbish and recycling is placed on the boundary of your property, easily accessible and visible to the crews by 7.30am on the morning of your collection. Please note that due to the Bank Holidays your refuse and recycling collection dates will change during the Christmas and New year period.

  • To keep up-to-date on refuse and recycling collections at your address, please visit where I live.
  • To recycle your Christmas tree, please remove all decorations and leave it out next to your green wheeled bin on your collection day from Wednesday 2nd January 2019.
  • For all other refuse and recycling matters visit rubbish and recycling.

Please note: There will be no bulky item collection service between Tuesday 25th December 2018 and Wednesday 2nd of January 2019.

Barleylands Recycling Centre

Pitsea Recycling Centre (Pitsea Tip)

The Basildon Centre - Basildon Council town centre office

DayOpen/Closed
Monday 24 December 2018, Christmas EveOpen 8.30am - 1pm (DWP closed)
Tuesday 25 December 2018, Christmas DayClosed
Wednesday 26 December 2018, Boxing DayClosed
Thursday 27 December 2018Open 8.30am - 5pm
Friday 28 December 2018Open 8.30am - 5pm
Saturday 29 December 2018Closed
Sunday 30 December 2018Closed
Monday 31 December 2018Open 8.30am - 5pm
Tuesday 1 January 2019, New Year's DayClosed
Wednesday 2 January 2019Return to normal opening times 8:30am to 5:30pm (5pm for face to face services, 5:30pm for telephony services)

The Place, Multi-purpose Leisure Centre

PLEASE NOTE: Over the Christmas period our Pulse Fitness Classes will finish on Friday 21st December and resume on Monday 7th January 2019.

DayOpening Times
Saturday 22nd December 20189am to 6pm
Sunday 23rd December 20189am to 4pm
Monday 24th December 2018, Christmas Eve9am to 4pm
Tuesday 25th December 2018, Christmas DayClosed
Wednesday 26th December 2018, Boxing DayClosed
Thursday 27th December 20189am to 9.45pm
Friday 28th December 20189am to 9.45pm
Saturday 29th December 20189am to 6pm
Sunday 30th December 20189am to 4pm
Monday 31st December 20189am to 4pm
Tuesday 1st January 2019, New Year's DayClosed
Wednesday 2nd January 20199am to 9.45pm

Towngate Theatre

Box office opening hours for the Towngate Theatre are as follows:

DayOpen/Closed
Monday 24 December 2018, Christmas EveOpen 9am - 5pm
Tuesday 25 December 2018, Christmas DayClosed
Wednesday 26 December 2018, Boxing DayOpen 11am - 5pm   
Thursday 27 December 2018Open 9am - 5pm
Friday 28 December 2018Open 9am - 7pm
Saturday 29 December 2018Open 10am - 7pm
Sunday 30 December 2018Open 11am - 5pm
Monday 31 December 2018, New Year's EveOpen 10am - 4pm
Tuesday 1 January  2019, New Year's DayClosed
Wednesday 2 January 2019Open 9am - 5pm


Activity Centres for the over 50s

All of our activity centres, which include The George Hurd Centre, Laindon Activity Centre and Pitsea Activity Centre, will be closed from Monday 24 December 2018 and will re-open on Wednesday 2 January 2019.
 

Wat Tyler Country Park, Pitsea

Wat Tyler Country Park is open daily from 9am to 5pm, including Christmas Day and Boxing Day.

The Wat Tyler Centre is open daily from 9.30am - 4.30pm, and closed on Tuesday 25 December 2018, Christmas Day, Wednesday 26 December 2018, Boxing Day and Tuesday 1 January  2019, New Year's Day.
 

Sports centres and swimming pools

For borough sports centres and swimming pool opening times, please call the centre directly.
Sport and leisure facilities
Swimming pools

Powered by GOSS iCM